Home About UsWihuri Foundation

Wihuri Foundation

Founded in 1944, Jenny and Antti Wihuri Foundation is a non-profit cultural foundation that supports activities of a broad spectrum, including the Wihuri Research Institute.

Jenny and Antti Wihuri Foundation awards grants and prizes in the fields of science, art and other societal activity. It also makes art acquisitions to Wihuri Foundation Art Collection in Rovaniemi Art Museum and maintains scholarship and residency programs. The Wihuri Research Institute is its most long-term initiative and is legally a part of the Foundation. 

The Foundation is managed by Executive Director Arto Mäenmaa and an eight-member Board of Trustees which holds all decisive power concerning the Wihuri Research Institute. The Foundation has appointed a scientific advisory board to help in assessing the Institute’s current operations and future direction.

The Members of the Scientific Advisory Board are 

  • Chair, Professor Tomi Mäkelä
  • Professor Christer Betsholtz from the Stockhom Karolinska Institutet 
  • Professor Timo Strandberg
  • Professor Sirpa Jalkanen
  • Professor Seppo Ylä-Herttuala

For more information about the Foundation, please click here.